Nearly 800 Individuals Attend CVSA Annual Conference and Exhibition in South Dakota

Nearly 800 individuals representing law enforcement, the motor carrier industry, and transportation safety associations and organizations attended the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance’s (CVSA) Annual Conference and Exhibition in Rapid City, South Dakota, Sept. 18-22. The annual conference was held in the home state of the Alliance’s outgoing president, CVSA President Capt. John Broers with the South Dakota Highway Patrol. CVSA members and non-members gathered at the conference to work together to improve commercial motor vehicle safety, eliminate roadway crashes, and improve inspection and enforcement uniformity, consistency and reciprocity throughout North America.

The conference kicked off with the general session on Sept. 19. Updates were provided from each country of the North American alliance. Salvador Monroy Andrade, director of international affairs for Mexico’s Ministry of Infrastructure, Communications and Transportation, provided an update on behalf of Mexico. Joel Turner, chair of the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators Committee on Compliance and Regulatory Affairs provided an update from Canada. And Robin Hutcheson, administrator for the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), provided a U.S. update.

The week included region, committee and program meetings. There was also a meeting of jurisdictions that use performance-based brake testers (PBBTs) and an information session titled, Don’t Know Much About Driver Fatigue.

CVSA also held its annual awards luncheon. Kylla Lanier, deputy director for Truckers Against Trafficking, presented the TAT Champion Award to CVSA. CVSA President Capt. Broers presented recognition plaques to members of the Alliance who were leaving their leadership roles. He also announced the three individuals he selected for the President’s Award – CVSA staff member Chris Turner; Jack Van Steenburg with FMCSA; and Andrea Sequin with Schneider. The International Driver Excellence Award (IDEA) was presented to Ruth McDonough of Hittman Transport Services and the 2022 North American Inspectors Championship Jimmy K. Ammons Grand Champion Michael Trautwein, with the Houston Police Department, spoke at the awards luncheon. In addition, CVSA Class I Members and Class II Local Members voted Capt. John Hahn, with Colorado State Patrol, into the position of CVSA secretary.

Each year, at the annual conference, the proceeds from conference raffles are donated to a charity selected by the current president. CVSA President Capt. John Broers selected the Seventh Circuit CASA Program as the recipient of funds raised from this year’s conference raffle. The Alliance raised more than $3,000, all of which will go to the Seventh Circuit CASA Program, a volunteer-based agency of court-appointed special advocates who provide a voice for abused and neglected children involved in the court system.

Mark your calendar for next year’s annual conference, scheduled for Sept. 17-21, 2023, in Grapevine, Texas.